The Sidney Prize and Other Literary Awards

A sidney prize is a literary award that requires submission of written work, usually an essay. The prize is typically given by a university and the winning essay is published in a magazine. These awards are designed to honor those who have made a substantial contribution to scholarship in the humanities. They are named in memory of individuals who have advanced the study of humanity. In addition to scholarly works, many of the prizes also include writing in the form of poetry and plays.

The Sydney Prize was established by the Committee of the Mechanics’ School of Arts in 1854. It is awarded to the best essay in English prose on a nominated question. The prize was originally intended to promote the study of Ancient History, but the committee has in recent times widened its criteria to include other topics in the humanities and social sciences. The prize was renamed in 1967 after the death of the prominent Dartmouth professor Sir Sidney Cox. It commemorates his generative influence on hundreds of students both inside and outside of the classroom. The prize is awarded to undergraduate writing that most closely adheres to the high standards of originality and integrity that Professor Cox exemplified.

Founded in 1950, the Hillman Foundation has honored journalists who pursue investigative reporting and deep storytelling in service of the common good. Winners of the U.S and Canadian Hillman Prizes exemplify reportorial excellence and storytelling skill, as well as a commitment to advancing social justice. The Foundation is currently accepting applications for the 2024 Hillman Prizes.

The Neilma Sidney Prize is an annual writing competition sponsored by Overland magazine. It is open to all students and provides a great opportunity for them to write about something that they care about while being recognized by professional publishers. The winner of the competition will receive a cash prize and will have their story published in Overland magazine. In addition, the two runners-up will receive a small cash prize.

For those interested in the art of storytelling, there are a number of creative writing courses available. The University of Sydney offers a Bachelor of Arts in Creative Writing, and the University of New South Wales offers a Master of Arts in Creative Writing. Both of these programs teach the principles and techniques of creative writing, and they prepare graduates for careers in both fiction and nonfiction.

The Sydney Peace Prize is an award that recognizes people and organisations who have made significant contributions toward peace with justice and diversity inclusion. This year, the award was presented to three founders of Black Lives Matter – Patrise Cullors, Alicia Garza and Opal Tometi – for their efforts following George Zimmerman’s acquittal. The prize includes a $2000 cash award and a plaque. The prize is supported by the Australian Literacy Educators’ Association (ALEA) North Local Council.